Written by on March 2, 2021

With less than five weeks to the 3rd MoC Grand Prix on 2nd–3rd April, over 300 Athletes from across Nigeria and West Africa have already registered for the event which has fast become the largest annual athletics competition in Nigeria aside the National Trials.

Several Nigerian national team athletes have already signaled their intention to storm Lagos for meet, with qualification for the Tokyo Olympics up for grabs.
The athletes include Commonwealth Games medallist and multiple African & National Champion Patience Okon-George, African Games Medallists, Kemi Francis, and Emmanuel Arowolo, and African Championships Medallist Samuel Kure.


As the competition for places on Nigeria’s Olympic Team heats up, they will be joined by other top Team Nigeria Athletes at the Event, such as Commonwealth Games Medallist and National 100m Champion Joy Udo-Gabriel, African Games Medallist and National 400m Champion Emmanuel Ojeli, National 200m Silver Medallist Jerry Jakpa, and National 100m Silver Medallist Grace Nwokocha.

National Team Athletes from other countries such as Sierra Leone and Togo have also registered interest in being part of the Olympic-qualifying Event
The Top Athletics Clubs in Lagos dominate the list of entries for the 3rd MoC Grand Prix.

Hosts MoC Track Club will have 25 Athletes at the Event, while Eaglesight (20), Olapade Athletics Club (16), and Arena (14). The event also received entries from D’Victors (11) and Christy Athletics Club (8) in Ogun State, Federal University of Technology Akure (10) in Ondo, God’s Speed Athletics Club (7) in Oyo, Favoured Stars (5) in Delta and Coach Felix Academic & Sports Foundation (5) in Kaduna

Other established athletics teams who will be making a return to the MoC Grand Prix include Team Police (10), Civil Defence (8) and the African Athletics Development Centre (AADC) in Port-Harcourt (3).

Several States also have athletes, looking to use the Grand Prix to prepare for the National Sports Festival which has been rescheduled to hold in April.
They include Edo (15), Delta (7), Anambra (5), Akwa Ibom (3) and Cross River (3).

(Editor-Oloyede Oworu)

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track