Breaking: Morocco, Spain and Portugal to host 2030 FIFA World Cup.

Written by on October 4, 2023

World Football Governing Body FIFA has granted the 2030 World Cup Hosting rights to Morocco, Portugal and Spain.

It’s the first World Cup to be held in three different continents, with matches expected to be played in 6 countries.

Uruguay, Argentina and Paraguay will be hosting the first three games to mark the tournament’s 100-year anniversary.

The first FIFA World Cup was hosted and won by Uruguay in 1930. In 2030, the biggest Football competition in the world will reach its centenary, hence the need to make the event a memorable experience.

All six teams, Morocco, Spain, Portugal, Argentina, Paraguay and Uruguay would automatically qualify as tournament host.

CAF had recently confirmed that Morocco, a North African country will host the 2025 AFRICA CUP OF NATIONS – AFCON.

With Morocco, a side that broke records at the last FIFA World Cup held in Qatar, by becoming the first African country to reach the Semi-final of the tournament being a co-host, it will be the second time the FIFA World Cup will be hosted on African soil after South Africa hosted the world for the first time in history in 2010.

Morocco finally gets a hosting rights of the tournament after unsuccessful bids in 1994, 1998, 2006, 2010 and 2026. Albeit its a joint host.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track