Written by on July 6, 2022

Following their screening and confirmation by the Nigerian Senate, President Muhammdu Buhari has sworn in 7 new Ministers.

The swearing-in took place on Wednesday at the council chambers of the state house Abuja just before the commencement of the weekly Federal Executive Council meeting.

Those sworn in are Henry Ikoh (Abia), Umana Okon Umana (Akwa-Ibom)
Udi Odum (Rivers)
Ademola Adegoroye (Ondo)

Others are Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub (Kano),
Goodluck Nana Opiah (Imo),
Ekumankama Nkama (Ebonyi).

The new ministers are replacing those who resigned their appointments to contest for various elective offices during the 2023 primary elections.

In his remark, President Muhammadu Buhari congratulated the new ministers and urged them to give their best in the discharge of their duties.

The president reminded the new ministers of his administration’s cardinal objectives of improving the economy, Fighting corruption and infrastructural development.

He advised them to take wise counsel and work closely with permanent secretaries in their various ministries.

Preceding the weekly cabinet meeting, was a minute silence observed in honour of the outgoing Secretary-General of OPEC Mohammed Barkindo who died on Tuesday evening, hours after meeting with the president.

Meanwhile, the Cabinet meeting is being attended by Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo, Secretary to Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha and Chief of Staff to the President, Professor Ibrahim Gambari.

Also physically attending the meeting are the Minister of Mines and Steel Development, Olamilekan Adegbite, Minister of Communication and Digital Economy, Isa Pantami, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami, and Minister of State for Petroleum Resources Timipre Sylva.

Head of Service of the Federation, Folashade Yemi Esan and other Ministers are attending virtually from their various offices in Abuja.

Editor: Paul Akhagbemhe

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track