Written by on June 21, 2022

Three federal lawmakers of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC in the Senate have defected from their party to opposition parties.

The lawmakers include Senators Ahmad Babba Kaita from Katsina North, Lawal Yahaya Gumau from Bauchi South, and Francis Alimikhena representing Edo North.

Senators Babba Kaita and Francis Alimikhena defected from APC to the opposition Peoples Democratic Party, PDP while Senator Gumau Lawal defected to the New Nigeria Peoples Party, NNPP.

The defection notice is contained in three separate letters addressed to the President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, and read during plenary on Tuesday.

Senator Kaita who represents President Buhari in the Senate says his resignation is a result of the marginalization of critical stakeholders by the State Government and leadership of the party in Katsina State, where persons like him do not have a chance in state politics.

Senator Francis Alimikhena, explains that his decision to resign from the APC is a result of continuing and multifaceted crisis that has bedeviled the APC, especially in his Senatorial District, which has created parallel executives that have undermined internal discipline, cohesion, and focus in the Edo State.

The latest defection puts APC lawmakers in the Senate at 66 and 37 from PDP. The NNPP has two senators while the Young Progressives Party,
YPP and All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA have one senator each.

Editor: Terverr Tyav

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track