Written by on May 31, 2022

Cross River State Governor, Professor Ben Ayade has sworn in the Chairman of the State Independent Electoral Commission (CROSIEC).

This was with a mandate asking the commission to conduct Local Government elections in the state in line with extant laws.

Represented by his Deputy, Professor Ivara Esu, the Governor said justice, fairness, and equity should be the watchword in the discharge of the enormous responsibilities of the electoral commission as an umpire.

In his response, the Chairman of the Commission, Dr. Mike Ushie who came in to head the State electoral body a second time assured him that he will deliver the task without fear or favor.

He said the electoral commission will hit the ground running in line with the Electoral Act to deliver credible elections to the people of Cross River State.

The swearing-in followed the screening of all the 7 members of the commission who were confirmed by the State House of Assembly.

Apart from the Chairman, the six commissioners that
took the oath of office were Eddie Idom Morphy, Matthew Ocheche, Joe Nnandi Esom, Yakmoendoho N. Yakmoendoho, Medea Ajah Inyang, and Ndoma Bassey Ndoma.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track