Written by on September 14, 2021

The Joint Health Sector Unions JOHESU and the Assembly of Healthcare Professional Associations, AHPA, have responded to President Muhammadu Buhari, rejecting the composition of the newly inaugurated National Health Reform Committee, headed By the Vice President Yemi Osinbajo.

The letter signed by JOHESU’s Acting National Secretary M.O Ajorutu says it wishes to on behalf of the members of JOHESU, consisting of about 95% of the public healthcare workforce in Nigeria, appreciated the President for the major interventions in the health sector in recent times.

JOHESU says, however, the composition of the Committee is unacceptable to the health professionals and professionals who are members of JOHESU.

It says Typically of the process involved in the sharing of benefit packages and resources in the health sector, the reform Committee with over 95% presence of physicians, already negates the rights and liberties of the majority of health workers in Nigeria.

JOHESU Noted that the committee of this nature, has slots for the Director-General, Federal Character, and Consumer Protection Council, but not an agency like NAFDAC which regulates all the drugs, medical devices, equipment, chemicals, etc which are the essential tools and commodities, which drive any credible health system.

JOHESU added that it observes with consternation that the Unions in the health sector, are not included in the committee and the inclusion of the National Association of Nigeria Nurses and Midwives was only a professional association representation.

JOHESU queries further on What is the significance of the reform process if it does not bequeath a legacy of equity to the health workers, who remain the human resource to reckon with in this reform bid.

It says it is unthinkable that a strategic arm of the health sector like JOHESU is ignored in this reform committee.

(Edited by Tunde Orebiyi)

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track