Kogi state assembly recalls 8 suspended members.

Written by on May 25, 2023

Kogi State House of Assembly has recalled eight suspended assembly members and two local government council chairmen after they were cleared of terrorism allegations.

The lawmakers include Daniya Rayin, Bassa constituency, Murktar Bajeh, Okehi constituency, Kilani Olumo, Ijumu constituency and Moses Akande Ogori-Magongo constituency.

Others are Mohammed Lawi Ahmed Okene one constituency, Atule Igbunu, Ibaji constituency, Suleiman Attajachi Musa, Idah and Aderonke Aro, Yagba West constituency.

While the cleared council chairmen include, Moses Olorunleke, Kabba-Bunu local government area and William Ikoojo, Ibaji of Ibaji local government area.

The clearance by the Department of State Security Service sent by the State Governor, Yahaya Bello in a correspondence to the assembly was read by the Speaker Mathew Kolawole at the plenary.

Meanwhile, the House of Assembly has invited two former commissioners and the former Auditor General for screening into the state executive council.

The screening nominees include Idris Asiru, Salami Momoh Ozigi and Yakubu Okala.

The invitation by the house follows a correspondence forwarded by Governor Yahaya Bello to the assembly asking the house to clear the nominees after their participation in the state governorship primaries.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track