Written by on August 3, 2021

The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) has confirmed that 32 Delta variant cases of coronavirus (COVID-19) have been reported in five states across the country.

Director-General of the NCDC, Dr Chikwe Ihekweazu, who gave the confirmation at the resumed briefing of the Presidential Steering Committee, yesterday, in Abuja, cited Akwa Ibom State as having nine of the cases.

The NCDC boss listed Lagos, Rivers, and Oyo states as well as the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), as the other places where at least one case of the Delta variant of COVID-19 had been confirmed in the country.

Geoffrey Onyeama, The Minister of Foreign Affairs  who announced  the new measures, said:

Everybody has to do a PCR test before travelling 72 hours from restrictive countries. But for countries where we have not placed restrictions, diplomats coming from those countries just have to have that 72 hours PCR test and then within seven days do a test in any accredited laboratory.

‘’If they have no valid PCR test, then they would have to be quarantined in a government facility but if they have the PCR test, they will still have to embark on a seven day self-isolation.

“If they do test positive and it is mild, they can isolate at home and if it is moderate to severe, then they have to be in accredited hospital facility.

“For those diplomats coming from non-destructive countries, they can get special waivers from the seven day isolation and this will be available to high profile diplomats who might be coming to meet the president or the vice president.’’



Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track