Written by on June 13, 2023

Senator Godswill Akpabio has emerged as the President of the 10th National Assembly. He defeated his rival Sen. Abdul’aziz Yari with 63 votes as against Yari’s 46.

The former Governor of Akwa Ibom State, Akpabio made history by becoming the first President of the Senate from the South-South region of Nigeria.

Both Akpabio and Yari are of the ruling All Progressive Congress APC. And both went into the contest early Tuesday after both received nominations for the position on the floor of the Senate at the inauguration of the 10th National Assembly.

Yari, a former Governor of Zamfara state had been of the opinion that Northwest Nigeria deserves the Position of the senate president owing to the region gaining more votes to ensure the ruling APC emerged victorious at the Presidential polls, hence he was willing to run against the party’s position of endorsing the former Minister of the Niger-Delta Affairs.

Scores of APC Senators in Yari’s camp had also rejected the party’s position and called for a review of the formula, saying the region deserves to be compensated.

Sen. Akpabio succeeds Ahmad Lawan as the President of the Senate, who is still a member of the Senate in this new dispensation.

Meanwhile, Senator Jibrin Barau, who represents Kano North Senatorial District, emerged unopposed as Senate Deputy President, succeeding Ovie Omo-Agege.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track